May 17, 2022  
2020-2021 Gatton College of Pharmacy 
2020-2021 Gatton College of Pharmacy [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Faculty & Administrators

Department of Pharmacy Practice

Lugo, Ralph A. (2006) Professor, Chair

Pharm.D., 1991, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy.

Cross, Leonard B. (2010) Associate Professor, Vice-Chair

Pharm.D., 2000, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy.

Stewart, David W. (2007) Professor, Vice-Chair

Pharm.D., 2003, Campbell University School of Pharmacy.

Alexander, Katelyn M. (2012) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2011, The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy.

Bossaer, John B. (2009) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2007, Purdue University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Burchette, Jessica E. (2012) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2010, East Tennessee State University Gatton College of Pharmacy.

Byrd, Debbie C. (2016) Professor

M.B.A., 2015, Tennessee Technological University;
Pharm.D., 1994, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy.

Calhoun, Larry D. (2005) Professor

Pharm.D., 1973, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy.

Cluck, David B. (2011) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2009, Auburn University.

Covert, Kelly L. (2016) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 2014, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy.

Crowe Susie (2016) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 2005, Purdue University College of Pharmacy.

Dahl, Brandi (2019) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 2017, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy.

Dowling-McClay, KariLynn (2018) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 2014, University of Montana;
M.P.H., 2016, East Tennessee State University.

Flores, Emily K. (2008) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2006, Medical University of South Carolina.

Gray, Jeffrey A. (2008) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 1996, Mercer University Southern School of Pharmacy.

Hagemeier, Nicholas E. (2011) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 2003, Purdue University;
Ph.D., 2012, Purdue University.

Hess, Jr., Richard A. (2007) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 1998, Mercer University Southern School of Pharmacy.

Highsmith, McKenzie L. (2014) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 2011, East Tennessee State University Gatton College of Pharmacy

Melton, Sarah T. (2012) Professor

Pharm.D., 1994, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy.

Mueller, Kathryn A. (2007) Assistant Professor

Pharm.D., 1990,  University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy.

Odle, Brian L. (2007) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 1994, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy.

Thigpen, James C. (2007) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 1992, Medical University of South Carolina.

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Roane, David S. (2006) Professor, Chair

Ph.D., 1987, Louisiana State University Medical Center.

Brown, Stacy D. (2007) Associate Professor, Vice-Chair

Ph.D., 2002, University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.

Collins, Charles C. (2006) Professor    

B.S., 1977, West Virginia University;
Ph.D., 1984, West Virginia University.

Digavalli, Siva (2018) Associate Professor

M.S., 1991, Kakatiya University;
M.S., 1993, University of Louisiana;
Ph.D., 1997, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center.

Harirforoosh, Saeidreza (2007) Associate Professor

Pharm.D., 1991, Tehran University;
Ph.D., 2005, University of Alberta.

Hurley, David L. (2007) Professor

M.S., 1982, Pennsylvania State University;
Ph.D., 1986, Pennsylvania State University.

Palau, Victoria E. (2007) Associate Professor

Ph.D., 1999, Florida International University.

Panus, Peter C. (2007) Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., 1985, University of South Alabama.

Pond, Brooks B. (2007) Associate Professor

Ph.D., 2004, Duke University Medical Center.

Puri, Ashana (2019) Assistant Professor

Ph.D., 2018, Mercer University.

Faculty Affiliates-College of Medicine

Duffourc, Michelle M. (1998) Associate Professor-Pharmacology

Ph.D., 1993, University of South Alabama.

Ordway, Greg A. (2005) Professor and Chair-Pharmacology

B.S., 1980, Ohio State University;
Ph.D., 1985, Ohio State University.

Robinson, Mitchell E. (1985) Professor-Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies; Adjunct Faculty, Biological Sciences

M.S., 1978, Western Carolina University;
Ph.D., 1983, Wake Forest University Bowman Gray School of Medicine.

Rusinol, Antonio E. (1996) Assistant Professor-Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ph.D., 1990, National University of Tucuman, Tucuman, Argentina.

Thewke, Douglas P. (1996) Associate Professor-Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

M.S., 1990, Central University of Pondicherry;
M.Phil., 1992, Central University of Hyderabad;
Ph.D., 1995, Central University of Hyderabad.

Faculty Affiliates-College of Public Health

Chakraborty, Ranjan N. (2001) Associate Professor, Chair-Health Sciences

M.S., 1981, University of Baroda, India;
Ph.D., 2003, Sardar Patel University, India.

Mustain, Eric L. (1990) Associate Professor-Health Sciences

Ph.D., 1984, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center.

Adjunct Faculty

Aultman, Whitney A. (2017) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2015, Ferris State University.

Gmyrek, Daniel P. (2011)
Department of Pharmacy Practice

B.S., 1981, University of New Mexico;
M.S., 1983, University of North Carolina School of Pharmacy

Kanel, Jeffrey S. (2008)
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
CEO, Renewal Algal Energy

M.S., 1986, Georgia Institute of Technology;
PhD., 1990, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Latham, Keith (2011)
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
President & Chief Scientist, ITL Pharma   

Ph.D., 1974, University of Southern California.

Nelson, Brooklyn R. (2015) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2013, Purdue University College of Pharmacy.

Singleton, Abby L. (2016) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2013, Ohio Northern University.

Tewell, Ryan B. (2017) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2014, Butler University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.

Trotter, Jennifer S. (2016) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2012, Samford University, McWhorter School of Pharmacy.

Walls, Zachary F. (2011)
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Ph.D., 2007, UCLA School of Medicine.

White, Elicia N. (2017) Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., 2015, East Tennessee State University Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy.

ETSU Board of Trustees

Biographies of the Board Members can be found on the web at

Scott Niswonger, Chairman Greeneville, TN
David Golden, Vice Chairman Kingsport, TN
Janet Ayers Nashville, TN
Steven DeCarlo Charlotte, NC
Dorothy Grisham Chattanooga, TN
Dr. Linda Latimer Johnson City, TN
Ron Ramsey Blountville, TN
Kelly Wolfe Jonesborough, TN
Adam Green, Secretary Johnson City, TN
Virginia Foley, Faculty Representative Johnson City, TN
Cristopher Santana, Student Representative Johnson City, TN

ETSU Administration

President Brian Noland, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President for Academics and Interim Provost Wilsie S. Bishop, D.P.A.
Chief Financial Officer B.J. King, Ed.D.
Chief Operating Officer Jeremy B. Ross, M.S.
Vice President for University Advancement Pamela S. Ritter, M.S.

Gatton College of Pharmacy Administration

Dean and Professor Debbie C. Byrd, Pharm.D., M.B.A.
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Director of Enrollment and Student Services  Steve C. Ellis, M.S.
Chair, Pharmacy Practice Ralph A. Lugo, Pharm.D.
Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences David S. Roane, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Assessment and Academic Affairs Adam C. Welch, Pharm.D., M.B.A.